Basic Immunology Course

Date and time: Sunday 21 August – 0900-1630
Venue: Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre
Lecturers:  A team of expert international immunologists who will present an update and new concepts in basic and translational immunology
Target audience: The target audience is mainly PhD students, younger scientists and academic physicians but all are welcome.  This course will be of value to those new to the field as well as those seeking a refresher on core material and update on cutting edge developments.
Presentations will be made available to participants and there will be ample time for discussion
Attendance certificates will be provided to participants
Registration fee: A$150

To download the Basic Immunology Course program* please click on the button below:

Basic Immunology Course Program

*Program is correct at 14 June 2016 and subject to change.

Register Now


Kris Hogquist

Kris Hogquist_smallDr. Hogquist obtained her bachelor’s degree in Biology from the College of St. Catherine (St. Paul, MN) and doctoral degree in Immunology from Washington University (St. Louis, MO). She did post-doctoral work the University of Washington (Seattle, WA), where she first became interested in T cell development. She started as an Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota in 1995, and currently holds the David M. Brown Endowed Professorship in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology there, and is the Associate Director of the Center for Immunology. Her research program is focused on T cell development in the thymus, particularly positive and negative selection, tolerance, and the human immune response to chronic infection. She has received several awards for her research, including the JV Satterfield Arthritis Investigator Award, a Searle Scholar Award, and an NIH MERIT award; and is highly active in the Immunology community, serving on many editorial boards, advisory and grant review panels, and conferences chairs.

Dale Godfrey

Dale Godfrey

Godfrey was awarded his PhD in 1990 from Monash University, and has worked in the field of T cell biology for over 25 years, with a focus on T cell development and NKT cell biology. As a postdoc, Godfrey, working with Albert Zlotnik at DNAX research institute, defined the DN1-DN4 pathway of early T cell development and coined the term ‘β-selection'; Godfrey has also helped to map the NKT development pathway; revealed functionally distinct NKT subsets with distinct TCR usage and antigen specificity; demonstrated molecular bases of NKT TCR recognition of several lipid-based antigens. Godfrey’s focus is now to understand the development, function, and antigen specificity of the broad family of non-conventional T cells that includes NKT cells, MAIT cells, CD1a, CD1b and CD1c-restricted T cells and γδ T cells. Godfrey is a Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at The Peter Doherty Institute, University of Melbourne. He is an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow and Immediate Past President of the Australasian Society for Immunology (ASI).


Marc Jenkins

Marc Jenkins

Marc Jenkins received his Ph.D. in Microbiology and Immunology in 1985 from Northwestern University and then conducted postdoctoral training in the Laboratory of Immunology at the National Institutes of Health. He joined the Microbiology Department at the University of Minnesota in 1988, where he conducts research on antigen-specific helper T cells and B cells in the Center for Immunology. He received the Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences Award, the American Association of Immunologists Meritorious Career Award, and an NIH Merit Award. Dr. Jenkins is a past President of the American Association of Immunologists.

Caetano Reis e Sousa

Caetano Reis e Sousa_cropped_smallCaetano Reis e Sousa obtained a BSc(Hons) in Biology in 1989 from Imperial College, London, and a DPhil in Immunology in 1992 from Oxford. He subsequently was a postdoctoral fellow with Ron Germain at the National Institutes of Health, USA. In 1998, he joined the Imperial Cancer Research Fund, later to become Cancer Research UK’s London Research Institute (LRI), as head of the Immunobiology Laboratory. In 2015, the LRI was subsumed into the new Francis Crick Institute where Caetano is currently a Senior Group Leader. He is also Professor of Immunology in the Department of Medicine at Imperial College and holds honorary professorships at University College London and King’s College London. Caetano’s research centres on the regulation of adaptive immunity by antigen-presenting cells, the innate immune mechanisms involved in sensing pathogen presence and cell death and the complexity of the mononuclear phagocyte system. His scientific contributions have been widely recognised and he is included in the list of Highly Cited Researchers (Thomson Reuters 2014) and has won the BD Biosciences Prize of the European Macrophage and Dendritic Cell Society (2002), the Liliane Bettencourt for Life Sciences Award (2008) and the Award for Excellence in Basic/Translational Research from the European Society for Clinical Investigation (2011). He is a fellow of The Academy of Medical Sciences (elected 2006), a member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO; elected 2006) and was made an Officer of the Order of Sant’Iago da Espada by his native Portugal in 2009.

David Tarlinton

David TarlintonProfessor David Tarlinton graduated with a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Sydney and with a PhD from the Department of Genetics at Stanford University. He was a post-doctoral period with Klaus Rajewsky in Cologne, Germany before returned to Australia as an NHMRC post-doctoral with Sir Gus Nossal at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI). David became an NHMRC Principal Research Fellow and Professor at the University of Melbourne while at WEHI, but in 2016 became Professor and Head of the Immunology and Pathology Department at Monash University. David’s research focuses on B lymphocyte differentiation with an emphasis on germinal centres, immune memory and plasma cell formation in health and disease.