Clinical Immunology Course

Date and time: Sunday 21 August – 0900-1630
Venue: Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre
Lecturers: A team of outstanding international clinical immunologists who will present an update on underlying immune mechanisms of immune disorders, as well as advances in diagnosis and treatment, especially immunotherapies.
Target audience: The target audience is mainly PhD students, younger scientists and academic physicians but all are welcome.  This course will be of value to those new to the field as well as those seeking a refresher on core material and update on cutting edge developments.
Presentations will be made available to participants and there will be ample time for discussion. In this course, lecturers will include case studies to further enhance discussion and appreciation of new insights.
Presentations will be made available to participants
Attendance certificates will be provided to participants
Registration fee: A$150

To download the Clinical Immunology Course program* please click on the button below:

Clinical Immunology Course Program

*Program is correct at 26 August 2015 and subject to change.

Register Now


Cezmi Akdis

Cezmi Adkis

Prof Cezmi Akdis is Director of the Swiss Institute of Allergy and Asthma Research (SIAF), Davos and Professor in Zurich University Medical Faculty. His research is focused on immune tolerance mechanisms in humans, developing novel vaccines and treatment modalities, and regulation and role of tissue cells and epithelial barrier in asthma and allergies. He has been continuously performing human immunology, lung and skin research to find solutions for allergies and asthma. Prof Akdis is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology.  He was president of the European Academy of Allergy Clinical Immunology (2011-2013), has received 13 international honors and awards and published more than 300 articles in peer-reviewed journals, 14 book chapters and 98 unreviewed articles. 

Anne Durandy

Anne DurandyAnne Durandy, a MD, PhD, is to-day an emeritus research director at Imagine Institute at Necker University hospital in Paris. From the beginning of her career, she has been strongly involved in the study of lymphocyte development in normal and pathological conditions. Through the genetic and pathophysiological dissection of inherited immunodeficiencies, she contributed to the delineation of molecular mechanisms essential for the specific immune response, especially for the antibody maturation process. 

Grant McArthur

Grant McArthur

Professor Grant McArthur is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and holds a Ph.D. in Medical Biology.  He has been appointed the inaugural  Lorenzo  Galli  chair  position  in  Melanoma,  University  of  Melbourne, Co-Head Cancer Therapeutics and Practitioner Fellow NHMRC.  In 2004 he was awarded the Translational Research Award of the Foundation Nelia et Amadeo Barletta and presented a plenary paper at the EORTC-NCI-ACCR Symposium on Molecular Targets  and  Cancer  Therapeutics.    In  2005  he  was  awarded  the  Sir Edward Dunlop Clinical Cancer Research Fellowship of the Cancer Council of Victoria and  in  2015  was  inducted  into  the  Australian  Academy  of  Health  and  Medical Science.  He has had over 178 publications including senior or first author publications in the following journals: New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of Clinical Oncology, Lancet Oncology, Cancer Discovery, Cancer Cell, Nature, Cell Biology, Blood and EMBO.

Pierre Miossec

Pierre Miossec 2015_small

Professor Pierre Miossec MD PhD is professor of Clinical Immunology at the University of Lyon, France. He worked with Morris Ziff as a research fellow at the University of Texas in Dallas, where he started his research on the role of cytokines and T cells in the context of arthritis. He was the first to identify the destructive properties of interleukin-17 and to introduce the concept of its production by a new T cell subset. He received the most prestigious Carol Nachman prize in 2010 for this contribution. He is a senior member of the Institut Universitaire de France.

Kathryn Wood

Kathryn Wood_smallKathryn Wood is Professor of Immunology in the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences, University of Oxford where she runs the Transplantation Research Immunology Group (TRIG – Her research focuses on tolerance induction at the molecular and cellular level, immune regulation and interactions between the immune system and stem cell derived tissues. Professor Wood is a Fellow of The Academy of Medical Sciences and her research achievements have been recognised internationally, includingreceiving a Gold Medal awarded by The Catalan Society of Transplantation (2011), The Maharshi Sushruta Award (2012) and the TTS Women in Transplantation, Achievement Award (2014). Kathryn was President of The Transplantation Society (2004-2006); was the founding Chair of the Women in Transplantation initiative (WIT – and Editor of Transplantation (1992 – 2014).