Does your employer pay you?
Does your employer pay you?
All employers in the State of California have a legal obligation to pay their employees the entire amount of wages owed for the time that they have worked and pay these wages in a timely manner. California employment laws and Labor Code protects worker’s rights to compensation, which includes the timeliness of wage …
Can my employer not pay me if there is no work?
If you are laid-off you should get your full pay unless it is part of your contract that your employer can lay you off without pay or on reduced pay. If it is not part of your employment contract, you may agree to change your contract. For example, a lay-off might be better than being made redundant.
Should my employer pay for my commute?
Generally, employers aren’t legally obligated to pay for commuting costs. However, expenses incurred as a result of travelling during ‘work time’, such as attending meetings, should be reimbursed. Consequently, bosses who decide to pay for commutes largely do so out of altruism – not because they have to.
Does laying off an employee cost the employer?
He estimates that each laid-off employee will cost the company 50% of the person’s compensation and benefits for each week that the position is vacant, even if there are people performing the duties, and 100% of the person’s compensation and benefits if the position is left completely open.
What is a reasonable work commute?
A National Personal Transportation Survey found that the average commute time was roughly 20 minutes each way. This is similar to a recent UC Davis study that estimates the average work commute to be around 30 minutes.
What is reasonable distance to travel for work?
The pie chart above shows that the majority of people (c40% ) would be willing to travel between 21-30 miles for their perfect role (and over 72% would travel 21 miles or more), which is encouraging for employers who want to try and find the best candidates for the job regardless of distance.
Can I sue my company for laying me off?
What are California layoff laws and how do they protect me? If your employer is supposed to abide by WARN laws and doesn’t give you the required 60-day notice of a plant closing or mass layoff, then you may be able to sue your employer for laying you off.
What happens if I layoff an employee?
Layoffs occur when a company undergoes restructuring or downsizing or goes out of business. In some cases, laid-off employees may be entitled to severance pay or other employee benefits provided by their employer. Generally, when employees are laid off, they’re entitled to unemployment benefits.
Employment Law Blog Posts: Under California employment law, all employers have a legal obligation to pay employees the wages they have earned and to pay these wages on time.
How are contractors usually paid?
Some contractors get paid on an hourly basis; for example, a computer programmer might get paid for hours worked on programming tasks. By the Job. The other payment alternative is to pay for the work done or by the job. For example, a cleaning service might get paid a set amount for cleaning your office.
When does an employer have to pay an employee?
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires employers to pay nonexempt employees for all hours “suffered or permitted” to work. Thus, at its most basic reading, if the employer requires the employee to complete paperwork or administrative tasks prior to orientation or otherwise outside of standard work hours, then that time should be paid.
When does an employer fail to pay an employee?
Unpaid wages occur when employers fail to pay employees what they are owed. This is often also referred to as withheld salary or wages.
When do you get paid for your last day of work?
Employees who are leaving their employment for any reason (eg by resignation, retirement, redundancy, dismissal or completion of fixed term) usually get their final wages and holiday pay on their last day of work, but may be paid it in their pay for the final period of their employment.
Do you have to pay employees for nonexempt hours?
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires employers to pay nonexempt employees for all hours “suffered or permitted” to work.