How is child support calculated in the state of Alabama?
According to the Alabama Schedule of Basic Child-Support Obligations, the total child support obligation is $1,192. The total child support obligation must be divided between the parents in proportion to their adjusted gross incomes. The percentage of the gross income is used to figure the dollar amount.
Do you still have to pay child support if the child goes to college in Alabama?
Under Alabama law, child support payments usually end when the child reaches the age of 19 or when he or she graduates from high school, or becomes emancipated, whichever happens later. However, if the child attends college and is not working, the noncustodial parent still has an obligation pay support.
How much back child support is a felony in Alabama?
The crime is charged as a misdemeanor if the parent has failed to make payments for more than one year or failed to make more than $5,000 in payments. The crime is increased to a felony if the parent has failed to make payments for more than two years or failed to make $10,000 in payments.
What is the average child support payment in Alabama?
Alabama’s was $758 a month, the 24th highest. The totals reflect how much a state presumes the non-custodial parent should pay but judges do have the discretion to award different amounts. And, in some cases, parents decide together how much support will be exchanged.
What percentage does Alabama take for child support?
The court orders a flat percentage of 25% of the non-custodial parent’s income to be paid in child support to the custodial parent. Therefore, the non-custodial parent pays $500 per month in child support.
At what age does child support end in Alabama?
Generally speaking, child support obligations in Alabama will be owed until the child reaches the age of 19. That is considered the age of majority in this state.
Do you have to pay child support if you sign your rights over in Alabama?
A single mother signing over parental rights may do so for her child to be adopted by a stable, loving couple. She can only remain in her child’s life with the adoptive parent’s permission. Additionally, the remaining legal parent or the adoptive parents cannot pursue child support from you.
How far behind in child support before a warrant is issued in Alabama?
AL Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears) In Alabama, child support enforcement must take place within 20 years from date of judgment for purpose of obtaining an order of support.
How long does child support last in Alabama?
Once you’ve obtained an order for child support from your child’s other parent, that parent must continue to pay child support on time and in full until the child support obligation ends, which in Alabama is usually when the child reaches age 19.
Can a dad just sign over his rights in Alabama?
Code Section 12-15-319, a court may terminate a parent’s rights if the parent is unable or unwilling to discharge their responsibilities, and the conduct or condition of the parent that makes them unable to care for their child is unlikely to change in the foreseeable future.
How long does it take to terminate parental rights in Alabama?
Once the ISP team has established adoption as the permanency goal for the child or the court finds that no reunification efforts are required, ASFA mandates that the petition to terminate parental rights be filed within 60 days.
How do I stop child support when my child turns 19 in Alabama?
Finally, child support obligations may be terminated if the paying parent requests emancipation. This would be reserved for cases wherein the child may be under the age of 19, but is functioning as an independent adult.