How is DSM IV different from ICD-10?

How is DSM IV different from ICD-10?

A main conceptual difference between the two classification systems is how they differentiate anxiety disorders in adulthood and childhood. The ICD-10 differentiates between anxiety disorders in childhood and in adulthood defining different criteria, whereas for the DSM-IV-TR this separation no longer exists.

What does Axis IV of the DSM account for?

Axis IV was used to describe psychosocial and environmental factors affecting the person. 1 Factors which might have been included here were: Problems with a primary support group. Problems related to the social environment. Educational problems.

Is the ICD reliable?

The DSM‐III and ICD‐10 CDDG field trials demonstrated good diagnostic reliability for most major classes of disorders.

What are the DSM IV Codes?

DSM-IV codes are the classification found in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition, Text Revision, also known as DSM-IV-TR, a manual published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA) that includes all currently recognized mental health disorders.

Are there axis in DSM 5?

Namely, the DSM-5 has combined axes 1-3 into a single axis that accounts for mental and other medical diagnoses. There are no longer distinct categories for mental health diagnoses, medical diagnoses, and personality disorders.

What is the DSM IV code for depression?

Depressive Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (DD-NOS) is designated by the code 311 in the DSM-IV for depressive disorders that are impairing but do not fit any of the officially specified diagnoses. According to the DSM-IV, DD-NOS encompasses “any depressive disorder that does not meet the criteria for a specific disorder.”.

What is the DSM Axis?

The five DSM axes are: Axis I: major mental disorders, clinical disorders Axis II: underlying pervasive or personality conditions, developmental disorders and learning disabilities, as well as mental retardation.