How often does Arkansas require you to pay state taxes?
Arkansas has a state income tax, meaning most who earned money in the state must file a return each spring. Here are the basics on Arkansas’ state income tax return filing process, according to resources from the state Department of Finance and Administration.
When was Arkansas state taxes due?
DUE TO CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) The extension to July 15 is automatic and the taxpayer does not need to file for an extension. The April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020 period will be disregarded for purposes of calculation of interest and penalties. Interest and penalties will begin to accrue on July 16, 2020.
How do I find out if I owe Arkansas state taxes?
Where’s My Arkansas State Tax Refund?
- State: Arkansas.
- Refund Status Website: https://www.atap.arkansas.gov/_/
- Refund Status Phone Support: 1-800-882-9275 (toll-free) or 501-682-1100.
- Hours: Mon. – Fri. 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
- Email Tax Support: [email protected]
- 2020 State Tax Filing Deadline: May 17, 2021.
Who do I make my Arkansas state tax check out to?
the Department of Finance and Administration
Note: Make your check or money order payable in U.S. Dollars to the Department of Finance and Administration. Be sure to include your Social Security Number and/or account number on your check or money order.
What is the state tax in Arkansas?
The Arkansas (AR) state sales tax rate is currently 6.5%. Depending on local municipalities, the total tax rate can be as high as 11.50%.
How does Arkansas state tax work?
Arkansas utilizes a progressive income tax rate which is based on taxpayers’ income levels. This means the more you earn, the more you’ll owe in taxes. All tax brackets are the same regardless of your filing status.
Does Arkansas have a state tax?
Arkansas assesses an individual income tax using 6 tax brackets ranging from just under 1% up to 7%. Its tax system is designed along the U.S. income tax system and generally adopts most of its tax provisions. More on Arkansas taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.
Does Arkansas tax Social Security?
For instance, Arkansas exempts Social Security benefits and up to $6,000 of retirement income from its state income tax. And, as a plus for veterans, all military pension income is tax-exempt. The state’s property taxes are among the lowest in the nation, too.
What taxes do you have to pay in Arkansas?
Arkansas collects income taxes from its residents at the following rates.
- 0.9% on the first $4,299 of taxable income.
- 2.4% on taxable income between $4,300 and $8,399.
- 3.4% on taxable income between $8,400 and $12,699.
- 4.4% on taxable income between $12,700 and $21,099.
- 6% on taxable income between $21,100 and $35,299.
What income is taxable in Arkansas?
Personal Income Tax Rates (Effective January 1, 2020)
|Income greater than $79,300|
|$4,001 – $8,000||4.0%|
|$8,001 – $79,300||5.9%|
|$79,301 and above||6.6%|
How do I file my Arkansas state taxes for free?
The Free File Alliance is a group of software providers working with the State of Arkansas and the IRS to donate free tax preparation for taxpayers. What this means to Taxpayers is that if you meet the qualifying criteria, you can prepare and efile your tax return for FREE.