Is a DUI charge the same as a conviction?

Is a DUI charge the same as a conviction?

Being charged with a DUI doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re going to be convicted. A DUI charge, while not a conviction, is still a very serious issue that needs to be addressed as soon as possible. Contact the experienced drunk driving defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer Poe for a no-cost consultation today.

What does DUI other mean?

Some state laws refer to the offense of drunken driving as a DUI while others call it a DWI. Other states use DWI to refer to driving while impaired by drugs, alcohol, or some unknown substance. They use the term DUI to refer to driving under the influence of alcohol.

How do you prove under the influence?

To prove a driver was under the influence, the prosecution generally has two options:

  1. proving the driver had a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of . 08% or more (a “per se” DUI), or.
  2. showing that the motorist was actually impaired by drugs or alcohol.

What kind of drugs can potentially result in a DUI?

Any kind of drug that impairs a driver’s ability to properly handle a motor vehicle can potentially result in a DUI arrest — whether it is an over-the-counter medication, prescribed drug or illegal substance.

What happens when you’ve been convicted of a DUI more than three times in Illinois?

Penalties for a Third DUI in Illinois A minimum of 10 days in jail or 480 hours of community service. A maximum of 3-7 years in jail if no aggravating factors are present. A maximum of 7-14 years in jail if aggravating factors are present. A minimum fine of $2,500 if your BAC was 0.16% or more.

How can I avoid jail time for 3rd DUI in Illinois?

Court Supervision is an Option If it is not possible to challenge your DUI charge or avoid conviction, Illinois provides for the potential of court supervision as an alternative to the criminal penalties. Under court supervision, the imposition of any criminal penalties is withheld for a set period of time.

Can you get a DUI from antidepressants?

If you take antidepressant medications, you may not think twice about them. Taking your pills can become a daily routine that you think does not negatively affect you. However, certain antidepressants are sedatives that can result in impairments similar to drunkenness.

Can you go to jail for inhalants?

In nearly all states, violations are misdemeanors. Penalties range from $25 fines to $10,000 fines and from 30 days or less in jail to up to six years in prison. Inhalants are breathable chemical vapors or gases that produce mind-altering effects when inhaled.

Is it illegal to huff glue?

Sniffing glue, paint, gas, or other household products, may seem harmless, but the dangers are very real. In addition to the dangers to one’s health, in most states, using household products to get intoxicated is actually illegal.