What is the Differential Ability Scales test?

What is the Differential Ability Scales test?

The Differential Ability Scales (DAS) is a nationally normed (in the US), and individually administered battery of cognitive and achievement tests….Test Structure.

Core Cognitive Tests Diagnostic Tests
Pattern construction Recall of designs
Word definitions Recognition of pictures
Similarities Recall of objects

Is the DAS 2 an IQ test?

Why is DAS–II not an IQ test? The DAS–II measures a more specific and narrower domain of human cognition. Although DAS–II provides a General Conceptual Ability composite, its primary purpose is as a tool for identifying and understanding the strengths and weaknesses in individuals.

What does the differential ability scale measure?

The Differential Ability Scales, Second Edition (DAS-II; Elliott, 2007) is an individually administered test designed to measure distinct cognitive abilities for children and adolescents ages 2 years, 6 months to 17 years, 11 months.

Who can give the DAS II?

The DAS–II is a comprehensive, individually administered, clinical instrument for assessing the cognitive abilities that are important to learning. The test may be administered to children ages 2 years 6 months (2:6) through 17 years 11 months (17:11) across a broad range of developmental levels.

Is General Conceptual ability the same as IQ?

The DAS is a test of cognitive ability that can be used with children aged 2 through 17 years. It’s similar to the Wechsler scales in a number of areas (e.g., it includes numerous sub-tests), and yields a General Conceptual Ability score (GCA) which is similar but not identical to the Full Scale IQ of the WISC.

What do you mean by differential ability?

Ability Scales. A differential measurement of distinctive abilities that yields a profile of strengths and weaknesses. A differential measurement of distinctive abilities that yields a profile of strengths and weaknesses.

How long does the DAS II take to administer?

Approximately 45-60 minutes
There are four different forms for the test: Preschool, School-Age, Cognitive Battery, School Achievement. Approximately 45-60 minutes is required for completion.

What is an average GCA score?

GCA score reliability ranges from an average of . 90 at the lower preschool level to . 94 at the upper preschool level, to . 95 for the school-age battery.

What does General Conceptual ability mean?

The DAS cognitive battery yields a composite score labeled General Conceptual Ability (GCA) that is defined as “the general ability of an individual to perform complex mental processing that involves conceptualization and transformation of information” (Elliott, 1990b, p. 20).

What is a IQ of a genius?

The average score on an IQ test is 100. Most people fall within the 85 to 114 range. Any score over 140 is considered a high IQ. A score over 160 is considered a genius IQ.

What are the most common IQ tests?

The most common types of IQ tests are:

  • Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale.
  • Universal Nonverbal Intelligence.
  • Differential Ability Scales.
  • Peabody Individual Achievement Test.
  • Wechsler Individual Achievement Test.
  • Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale.
  • Woodcock Johnson III Tests of Cognitive Disabilities.

How long does the DAS take to administer?

When did the differential ability scale come out?

Differential Ability Scales Introduction The Differential Ability Scales (DAS; Elliott, 1990a) is an individually administered battery of cognitive and achievement tests for children and

How are Das subtests used in Differential Ability Scales?

Differential Ability Scales. Differential Ability Scales (DAS) DAS Subtests as Measure of g. Examination of the loadings on the first unrotated factor—in either a principal components analysis or a factor analysis—allows one to determine the extent to which the DAS subtests measure general intelligence, or g.

How does the Das measure strengths and weaknesses?

The DAS was designed to measure specific, definable abilities and to provide interpretable profiles of strengths and weaknesses. The DAS also contains three achievement tests, co-normed with the cognitive battery, which allows direct ability-achievement discrepancy analysis.

What is the purpose of the DAS-II test?

The DAS-II measures a range of types of ability, as opposed to one specific theory of human cognition. The test is designed to measure an individual’s general conceptual and reasoning ability, along with specific and diverse abilities, to determine strengths and weaknesses of cognitive functioning.