What is the punishment for possession of marijuana in South Carolina?
Marijuana possession is a misdemeanor, which is less-serious than a felony. A marijuana possession conviction in South Carolina can result in up to 30 days or 6 months in jail depending on the total amount of weight of the drugs, a fine of up to $1,000, or any combination.
What are the penalties for possession of prescription drugs in South Carolina?
Simple possession and/or purchase – 44-53-375(A)
- First offense – A fine of up to $5,000 and up to three years imprisonment.
- Second offense – Up to 5 years in prison and a fine up to $7,500.
- Third offense – A prison sentence of up to 10 years and fines reaching $12,500.
What is considered a felony in South Carolina?
Felonies are serious crimes. They include murder, rape, kidnapping and armed robbery. South Carolina classifies felonies at six levels: Class A Felony – Punishable by up to 30 years in prison.
Is it illegal to carry prescription drugs without the bottle in South Carolina?
Yes, it’s actually illegal to possess a controlled substance or narcotic without a valid prescription, which typically means the bottle/packaging. This means if you’re carrying your prescription medication outside its original container and are stopped by law enforcement, you could be arrested.
What are the six categories that crimes are classified into?
Terms in this set (7)
- 6 types of crime. violent, property, public order, white collar, organized, high tech.
- violent crime. murder, assault, kidnapping, manslaughter, rape.
- property crimes. arson (to an extent), vandalism, burglary, theft, shoplifting.
- public order crimes.
- white collar crime.
- organized crime.
- high tech crime.
What is a Class D felony in SC?
Class D Felony(examples include third-degree criminal sexual conduct with a minor, abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult resulting in great bodily injury, stalking within 10 years of a prior conviction, third-degree arson, and second-degree burglary) – Up to 15 years.
How much is a simple possession charge in SC?
Simple possession of marijuana in South Carolina is a misdemeanor punishable by not more than 30 days in jail and a fine between $100 and $200. Clients with a first-time simple possession charge may be eligible to enter a pre-trial intervention program or attend a drug abuse program to decrease their penalties.
How much does it cost to get your record expunged in South Carolina?
What fees do I pay for an expungement? You must pay a $250.00 administrative fee to the Solicitor’s office, a $25.00 fee to the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (“SLED”), and $35.00 filing fee to the Clerk of Court. You pay the fees with separate money orders when you apply to your Solicitor’s office.