What is a minor drug offense?

What is a minor drug offense?

Where the amount is small, drug possession and use are generally considered to be minor offenses. However, when in possession of larger quantities, you are more likely to be charged with trafficking and the penalties are likely to be more severe. Trafficking a drug of dependence is a serious offense.

What kind of charge is a drug charge?

Most instances of drug possession get charged as misdemeanors. The crime is punishable by: imprisonment in county jail for up to one year, and/or. a maximum fine of $1,000.

What happens if you give a minor drugs?

The penalties for contributing to the delinquency of a minor depend on the situation, but could result in an infraction, misdemeanor, or even a felony. As a misdemeanor, a conviction could result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. As an infraction, the penalties include a fine of up to $250.

What are some minor drugs?

Drugs most commonly possessed by minors and teens are illicit narcotics, such as marijuana, cocaine, ecstasy and LSD alongside prescription medications like Adderall, Ritalin, Vicodin and Xanax.

Is Coke possession a felony?

The Penalties for Possession of Cocaine under California Law California Health and Safety Code 11350 HS prohibits the possession of controlled substances such as cocaine. Violating this statute is a felony involving a prison sentence between 16 months and 3 years along with a possible fine of up to $20,000.

What is it called when you give a minor drugs?

Health and Safety Code 11361 HS is a California marijuana law that makes it a crime for adults to: induce a minor to use marijuana, or. employ or use a minor to transport, sell or give away marijuana.

What happens if minor is caught drinking?

California Underage Drinking Law Any person who attempts to buy alcohol under the age of 21 may be fined up to $250 and may be required to perform 24-32 hours of community service. The minor may also have his or her driving privileges suspended for one year.

What type of crime is drug possession?

misdemeanor offense
Drug Possession, Distribution, and Trafficking Laws Under Proposition 47, possession of controlled substances for personal use, deemed “simple possession,” is classified as a misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to one year in county jail, community services, and/or a fine of up to $1,000.

What happens if a 14 year old drinks alcohol?

Underage binge drinking is associated with an increased likelihood of being the victim or perpetrator of interpersonal violence. Drinking may cause youth to have trouble in school or with the law. Drinking alcohol also is associated with the use of other substances.