What is private maritime law?

What is private maritime law?

Maritime law is the private law relating to ships and the commercial business of shipping. Admiralty law, often used synonymously with maritime law, applies to the private law of navigation and shipping, in inland waters as well as on the ocean.

Why does maritime law exist?

Maritime law, which is often referred to as admiralty law, is a fundamental branch of law that regulates commerce and navigation on the seas or other navigable waters. It thus became increasingly necessary to expand this scope of the law as no country may claim arbitrary jurisdiction over the seas.

What is the purpose of MLC 2006?

The Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 (“MLC, 2006”) establishes minimum working and living standards for all seafarers working on ships flying the flags of ratifying countries.

Is maritime law Real?

Maritime law, also known as admiralty law, is a body of laws, conventions, and treaties that govern private maritime business and other nautical matters, such as shipping or offenses occurring on open water. International rules, governing the use of the oceans and seas, are known as the Law of the Sea.

Why do Solas Convention exist?

The main objective of the SOLAS Convention is to specify minimum standards for the construction, equipment and operation of ships, compatible with their safety.

How does a ship being certified as MLC, 2006 compliant?

Under MLC, 2006, the ship owners are required to submit a DMLC or Declaration of Maritime Labour Compliance to their respective flag states which form a party to the convention. The flag states accordingly issue the MLC Certificate to the fleet flying their flag following, surveys, inspections, paperwork and approvals.

Why is it called maritime?

Maritime comes from the Latin word maritimus, which means “of the sea,” so the meaning hasn’t evolved much. Whales and dolphins are maritime animals, and according to maritime law, the captain of a ship can marry two people at sea.

When was the fifth version of Solas adopted?

The fifth, adopted in 1974 which entered into force in May 25, 1980.