Where in the world is Kashmir?

Where in the world is Kashmir?

Kashmir is a geographical region that forms the northernmost part of the Indian Subcontinent.

Is Kashmir part of India or Pakistan?

Both India and Pakistan claim all of Kashmir, but the territory has been partitioned between them since 1947. India controls the southern half of Kashmir, which it has organized as the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Where Kashmir is located in Pakistan?

Jammu and Kashmir
Today the northern part of Kashmir is held by Pakistan. The disputed regions are Gilgit-Baltistan in the north and Azad Kashmir, the nominally self-governing territory to the west of the Indian-administered state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Is Jammu and Kashmir a country?

The act re-constituted the former state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, with effect from 31 October 2019….Jammu and Kashmir (union territory)

Jammu and Kashmir
Administering country India
Union territory 31 October 2019
Capital Srinagar (May–October) Jammu (Nov-April)
Districts 20

Why are Kashmiris so beautiful?

The reason considered behind their beauty is the geographical and genetic conditions of Kashmir. Along with that, they also maintain their beauty with such natural things which are easily found in Kashmir. Some of these things keep them glowing their faces and remain white.

Which are the 9 union territories of India?

The 9 union territories are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Puducherry, Ladakh and Jammu, and Kashmir.

Are Kashmiris really beautiful?

Beauty. Kashmiri women are beyond beautiful. Almost every woman in Kashmir is above average when it comes to beauty. There is beauty in their simplicity and in their sophistication.

What are Kashmiris known for?

Their dance, music, cuisine, carpet weaving and Koshur Sufiana forms a significant part of Kashmiri identity. Kashmiri culture is mainly followed by people living in Kashmir valley and Dodab of the Chenab region. The valley is known for the fine arts including traditional boats and houseboats, handicrafts and poetry.

Which are the 9 union territories of India 2021?

The 9 Union Territories of India are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Ladakh, and Puducherry.

Where is Jammu and Kashmir located?

Jammu and Kashmir, formerly one of the largest princely states of India, is bounded to the northeast by the Uygur Autonomous Region of Xinjiang (China), to the east by the Tibet Autonomous Region (China) and the Chinese-administered portions of Kashmir, to the south by the Indian states of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab, to the southwest by Pakistan,

How big is Kashmir?

The Kashmir region has a total area of about 86,772 square miles (224,739 sq km) and much of it is undeveloped and dominated by large mountain ranges such as the Himalayan and Karakoram ranges. The Vale of Kashmir is located between mountain ranges and there are also several large rivers in the region.

What was Kashmir named in ancient India?

The word Kashmir was derived from the ancient Sanskrit language and was referred to as káśmīra. The Nilamata Purana describes the valley’s origin from the waters, a lake called Sati-saras . [8] [9] A popular local etymology of Kashmira is that it is land desiccated from water. [10]

What is the size of Kashmir?

Kashmir’s total land area is 225,000 km 2 (87,000 mi 2), larger than 87 member countries of the United Nations and all but ten states in the US; it is only slightly smaller than the UK (243,000 km 2).